Various Artists: Motorpsycho Tribute Series Volume 1

Blåbærtoppen Spelemannslag (Marte Haltli, Frida Haltli, Frode Haltli, Maja S.K. Ratkje) perform Blueberry Daydream on this compilation, volume 1 in a series of cover versions of Motorpsycho songs. First released as digital singles on Bandcamp, then compiled on four double LPs and two double CDs.

Pressed on 140 gram black vinyl, housed in full colour matt finished outer sleeve and black polylined inner bags. Comes with an exclusive tote bag screen printed by Kjetil Brandsdal at Drid Machine in Stavanger. Test Pressing Edition of 10 copies in handmade and screen printed sleeve and including Volumes 1 & 2 certificate hand-numbered and signed by the curator. Patron Edition of 200 copies with Volumes 1 & 2 certificate hand-numbered and signed by the curator, for those who originally crowdfunded/pre-ordered both volumes. Artist Edition of about 100 copies with Volumes 1 & 2 certificate signed by the curator, given away to the contributing artists and others involved in the project, plus current and former members of Motorpsycho. Standard Edition of about 700 copies without certificate but otherwise identical to the Patron and Artist editions.

Release details:

Released 1 June 2023


Side A:
MONOLITE – Heartattack Mac (Gebhardt/Ryan/Sæther) 6:22
Jonas Stålhammar – guitars, Mellotron, vocals. Per Stålberg – bass, vocals. Kalle Lilja – drums. Recorded and mixed by Per Stålberg and Kalle Lilja at Welfare Sounds, Gothenburg.

SILJE HULEBOER – Serpentine (Ryan) 5:53
Performed, arranged, produced, recorded and mixed by Silje Huleboer at Chaka Khan Studio, Oslo. Noises by Sten Ove Toft. Beats by Emile The Duke.

TUSMØRKE – Starmelt/Lovelight (Gebhardt/Ryan/Sæther) 4:03
Benediktator – bass, vocals, chimes, glockenspiel, Moog Minitaur, MoogerFooger MF-102 & MF-104Z and Ibanez AD-220. Krizla – flute and backing vocals. Haugebonden Gode Gullstein – Crumar Mojo XT, Yamaha P-515, Mellotron M4000D, Minimoog Model D and Roland RE-201. HlewagastiR – drums. Arranged by Tusmørke. Recorded and produced by Benediktator in Det Ytre Rommet.

SISTER RAIN – The One Who Went Away (Sæther) 3:33
Ivar Berge – bass. Eystein Hopland – acoustic and electric guitar, piano, backing vocals. Ulf Knudsen – acoustic and electric guitar, synth. Aslak Nygren – lead and backing vocals. Emil Northcreek – backing vocals. Herr Stonal Tap – drums and percussion. Greven Ling – additional drums, backing vocals in the tunnel. Produced and mixed by Eystein Hopland. Recorded at Studio Tæppa. Vocals and overdubs recorded at Sunberry Hill Studio.

Side B:

ELECTROND – Feedtime (Gebhardt/Ryan/Sæther) 4:53
Arranged, performed, recorded, mixed and produced by Electrond at Electrond HQ, Oslo. Instruments: Make Noise 0-Coast, Behringer Model D, Arturia Microfreak, Arp Axxe, Korg Prodigy, Rakit Drum, Rakit Metal, Roland TR09, Chase Bliss Mood.

ASTROBURGER – Feel (Sæther) 3:24
Don Bingo – vocals, guitar, synth. Andreas Mastrup – bass, backing vocals. Jan H. Sørensen – drums. Jørgen Kramer-Johansen – trombones. Extra thanks for his jolly trombones. Recorded and mixed at Studio Zeb, Oslo.

DNA? AND? – Timothy’s Third Monster (DNA? AND?) 3:21
Vilde Erikstad – vocals and synth. Jostein Hylin – vocals, guitar and drums. Ola Skarsæterhagen – vocals and saxophone. Sambou Samateh – vocals and guitar. Thore Warland – bass. Recorded by Harald Fetveit in his living room.

SWEETHEART – Waiting For The One (Sæther) 3:25
John-Arne Ø. Gundersen – vocal, acoustic guitar. Anne Mette Hårdnes – vocal, piano. Stian Jørgen Sveen – pedal steel guitar. Produced by Sweetheart and Anders Møller. Recorded and mixed by Anders Møller at Subsonic Society, Oslo.

ANLA COURTIS – The Visitant (Sæther) 4:05
Anla Courtis – vocals, guitar, bass and drums. Recorded at Yaguareté Studios, Buenos Aires. Thanks to Motorpsycho, Marcelo O’Reilly and Saldias.
Side C:

BLÅBÆRTOPPEN SPELEMANNSLAG – Blueberry Daydream (Sæther) 5:13
Marte Ingeborg Haltli – guitar and backing vocals. Frida Helene Haltli – fiddle and backing vocals. Frode Haltli – accordion and backing vocals. Maja Solveig Kjelstrup Ratkje – vocals. Recorded by Trond Kjelsås and Maja S. K. Ratkje. Mixed by Maja S. K. Ratkje.

GEIR SUNDSTØL – Nothing To Say ~ Lacuna/Sunrise (Sæther) 5:53
Runa Cecilie Waterloo Hovstein – euphonium. Geir Sundstøl – National guitar, MiniMoog, Logan String Melody, Singh tabla box, bass guitar, percussion, celeste, electric guitars and Optigan. Recorded and mixed by Geir Sundstøl at Studio Intim, Oslo.

STINA STJERN – In The Family (Sæther) 5:54
Arranged, performed, recorded and mixed by Stina Stjern on a Yamaha MT8X 8-track multitrack cassette tape recorder.

Side D:

SHERIFFS OF NOTHINGNESS – Quaestor per µεταξυρεῖον ϋδωρ (30%) 11:00
Comprovisation of Kvæstor (Kapstad/Ryan/Sæther), Stalemate (Sæther) and 30/30 (Sæther) by Sheriffs of Nothingness. Kari Rønnekleiv – violin. Ole-Henrik Moe – viola. Recorded and mixed by André Bratten at Small Landscapes.

KOSMOGON – Lacuna/Sunrise (Sæther) 6:59
Sophie Linder – piano, organ, Mellotron and Rhodes. Nicklas Barker – Mellotron. Recorded and mixed at Magic City Studio, Stockholm.