Trygve Seim: Rumi Songs

Norwegian saxophonist Trygve Seim sets the poetry of Jalaluddin Rumi (1207-1273), using the inspired contemporary English-language versions of Coleman Barks and Kabir Helminski as his source texts. Trygve responds both to the musicality of the translations and to Rumi’s gifts as a storyteller and with Rumi Songs seems to have invented a new kind of Lieder with a Nordic-Oriental orientation. The line-up is strikingly unorthodox, with each of the quartet members bringing their own musical personalities to the material. Classical mezzo-soprano Tora Augestad is well-known as the leader of her own ensemble Music For A While, and for her numerous music-theatre collaborations with Christoph Mathaler. She finds an intimate tone to convey Rumi’s thoughts, underlined by the elegant arrangements and the improvisational input of Seim, Haltli and Henryson.

This recording was nominated for Spellemannsprisen 2016, the ‘Norwegian Grammy’


Release details:

ECM 2449
Released 2016


Trygve Seim – soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone
Tora Augestad – vocals
Frode Haltli – accordion
Svante Henrysson – cello

1. IN YOUR BEAUTY (Trygve Seim) 03:03
2.SEEING DOUBLE (Trygve Seim) 08:37
3. ACROSS THE DOORSILL (Trygve Seim) 04:21
4. THE GUEST HOUSE (Trygve Seim) 05:35
5. LEAVING MY SELF (Trygve Seim) 06:04
6. WHEN I SEE YOUR FACE (Trygve Seim) 06:34
7. LIKE EVERY OTHER DAY( Trygve Seim) 05:35
8. THE DRUNK AND THE MADMAN (Trygve Seim) 05:42
9. WHIRLING RHYTHMS (Trygve Seim) 02:40
10. THERE IS SOME KISS WE WANT (Trygve Seim) 05:38
Buy this release:


Read more:

ECM Records