Maja S.K. Ratkje: River Mouth Echoes

Maja Ratkje is a remarkable vocalist and composer based in Norway. Her work ranges from orchestral and chamber works to electronics, improvisation and creative combinations of all of the above. This special collection of Maja’s work showcases several aspects of this composer’s unique and intense approach to sound and features two of her most personal chamber works along with electronic and electro-acoustic works for voice, saxophone and more. (Tzadik)

Release details:

Tzadik, 2008


Maja Solveig Kjelstrup Ratkje: Voice, Synth, Processing
Oslo Sinfonietta, cond. Christian Eggen
Torben Snekkestad: Tenor Saxophone
Richard Boothby: Viol
Richard Campbell: Viol
Asako Morikawa: Viol
Richard Tunnicliffe: Viol
Rolf-Erik Nystrøm: Alto Saxophone
Frode Haltli: Accordion
Håkon Thelin: Double Bass

1. Øx
2. essential extensions
3. Wintergarden
4. River Mouth Echoes
5. Waves IIB
6. Sinus Seduction (Moods Two)
All compositions by Maja Solveig Kjelstrup Ratkje
Buy this release: